‘OUR CULTURAL HERITAGE’ – Position 125

Position 125 (Facebook) is the artist collective of the ‘Vereniging Herdenking Javaanse Immigratie’ (VHJI) (Facebook), founded in 2015 on the occasion of the commemoration of 125 years Javanese immigration in Suriname. This collective recently organized their second exhibition, this time in commemoration of 127 years Javanese immigration. The participating artists, all with Javanese roots, took their inspiration from the theme OUR CULTURAL HERITAGE. Most of them made new works of art, some showed existing works, but all of them presented images representative of the things that they are proud of within their culture. Ada Korbee visited the exhibition on behalf of Sranan Art Xposed (SAX). Please find Ada’s take on the exhibition below. Recently we have already posted about the exhibition on our Sranan Art blog. And we have made a Flickr photo-album and a Vimeo post.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I skip the opening on Wednesday the 9th of August, but visit the exhibition the following day and I’m happy to see most of the participating artists there on that night. To be truthful, it wasn’t until afterwards that I realized that I was happy about it. It is pleasantly crowded on the terrace where the ART JAM is underway. I had expected music, don’t ask me why though, and I decide to just go with the flow. In the booklet that is released with the exhibition, I read that the artists will paint various items, which will then be sold to the highest bidder on the last evening.

The small space in front as you enter De Hal, has been assigned to the three photographers, Donavan Mariman, Hedwig PLU de La Fuente & Ken Pardi. It is the first time that they have been asked to also contribute to this exhibition. This small space does not as yet give me that exhibition feeling. This is not because of the photographs on display, but because of the space: low with fluorescent lighting. I do understand that they make use of the space; we did so as well when we used to produce the exhibitions for Readytex Art Gallery here. Sometimes as an introduction, sometimes with small works, and for this exhibition the organization used it to give photography its own space.

The large hall with work from fourteen artists, each with their own style, looks pleasantly cheerful and colorful, and at the same time it also exudes peace. There is work on display from Ardie Setropawiro, August Bohé, Cliff Rasidin, Dani Djojoatmo, Johan Doelrajak, Kim Sontosoemarto, Ray Daal, Reinier Asmoredjo, René TosariSoeki IrodikromoSri Irodikromo, Steven Towrijo & Suhada Kasto. I wander about some as I usually do, to get a sense of what I see and to take some initial shots with my camera. Kim (Sontosoemarto) walks with me for a bit and talks about the what, the why, the process, and about some of the works.

I know all of the artists by name except for one of them: Sato Atmopawiro, he lived and worked in the Netherlands and passed away in 2015. Kim tells me that his work has never been exhibited before, and the fact that his work is now on display here, is a wonderful posthumous tribute to him.

I talk to other visitors about some of the works and finally decide to choose one work from each artist, one that particularly speaks to me. I select based upon what the work does to me, sometimes this is mainly the color as is for example the case with Soeki’s work, but sometimes it is the artist’s story such as with Dani and Cliff. From some artists I have a hard time choosing and I ask myself whether I want to choose at all. The work does not really speak to me, as is the case with the work of Reinier. I know his work and don’t like everything, but his works from 2016 surprised me. I don’t recognize that here. Then I hear how he struggled with the portrayal of the gracious forms of Javanese women, and I immediately understand … so I choose a work after all, the one that to me best represents ‘Reinier’.

At the work of August Bohé I keep taking a step back. I am familiar with his photorealistic work, of large fruit for example, skillfully painted, but I usually miss the life in them. And that, I realize now, is what I am looking for here. The life in the people that he has portrayed on canvas. I ultimately find it in one work, which I also end up choosing. I did first have to let go of my association – something in the portrait reminded me of a drawing in an exhibition about the independence struggle in the former Dutch Indies. It took me back in time for a second…

Lastly I stand before the work of Dani, together with him. I remember his large photorealistic work during Paramaribo SPAN, 2010. And now I am looking at three small, framed watercolors with bamboo. I know that he had stopped painting for a while, I listen to him and ask no more questions. I give him a hug and choose a work.

I look around some more on the terrace where the cigar boxes have gone through an artistic transformation. The atmosphere is cheerful, the cooperation is good, and that is half of the success!

As I drive home, I think of how each artist goes through his/her own unique process. The work that that results in, may not always be what was intended. It might be put away somewhere well out of sight, or ends up being painted over. Making the choice to show it after all, because you have committed yourself to colleague artists, to an ideal, to a promise, that is the freedom of the artist and to that I give my full respect. And then I think of something else: I am happy that I can react freely to what I have seen. I am no artist, no art critic, no art historian. I simply record what I see and feel in words and sometimes in pictures, and that is my freedom!

What: Position 125 (Facebook), OUR CULTURAL HERITAGE

When: August 9 -11, 2017

Where: De Hal, Grote Combéweg 45, Paramaribo, Suriname

TEXT & PHOTOS Ada Korbee, Commewijne, August 15, 2017

Ada Korbee (Rotterdam, 1952) lives and works in Suriname since 2008 and does freelance work in the field of art and culture management. In that capacity she has been the production manager for Readytex Art Gallery since 2010.

TRANSLATION Cassandra Gummels-Relyveld

+++

Position 125 (Facebook) is het kunstenaarscollectief van de Vereniging Herdenking Javaanse Immigratie (VHJI) (Facebook) opgericht in 2015, in verband met de herdenking van 125 jaar Javaanse immigratie in Suriname. Dit collectief organiseerde voor de tweede maal een expositie, dit maal ter gelegenheid van de herdenking van 127 jaar Javaanse immigratie. De deelnemende kunstenaars, allen met Javaanse roots, lieten zich inspireren door het thema OUR CULTURAL HERITAGE. De meesten maakten nieuw werk, enkelen toonden eerder vervaardigde werken maar allen werkten aan de verbeelding van datgene waarop zij trots zijn binnen hun cultuur. Ada Korbee bezocht de expo namens Sranan Art Xposed (SAX). Hieronder haar verslag. Eerder postten wij op het Sranan Art-blog. Ook is er een Flickr-album en een Vimeo-post.

De opening op woensdag 9 augustus laat ik voorbij, ik ga de dag erna en ben blij de meeste deelnemende kunstenaars te zien. Om eerlijk te zijn: dat ik daar blij mee was, realiseerde ik me pas na afloop. Het is een gezellige drukte op het terras, de ART JAM is bezig. Ik had muziek verwacht, vraag me maar niet af waarom en laat me leiden door het moment. In het boekje dat bij de expositie is uitgebracht, lees ik dat kunstenaars diverse items zullen beschilderen die op de laatste avond aan de hoogste bieder worden verkocht.

De kleine ruimte voorin De Hal is voor drie fotografen, Donovan Mariman, Hedwig PLU de La Fuente & Ken Pardi, voor het eerst zijn ook zij gevraagd een bijdrage te leveren aan de expositie. In deze kleine ruimte krijg ik nog niet het expositiegevoel, het ligt niet aan de getoonde foto’s, maar aan de ruimte: laag met tl-verlichting. Ik snap wel dat de ruimte wordt gebruikt, dat deden we ook altijd met de exposities van Readytex Art Gallery toen wij die hier nog produceerden. Soms als introductie, soms met klein werk, en voor deze expositie gaf de organisatie de fotografie een eigen plek.

De grote zaal met werk van veertien kunstenaars, met allemaal hun eigen stijl, oogt prettig vrolijk en kleurrijk, en straalt ook rust uit. Er is werk te zien van Ardie Setropawiro, August Bohé, Cliff Rasidin, Dani Djojoatmo, Johan Doelrajak, Kim Sontosoemarto, Ray Daal, Reinier Asmoredjo, René TosariSoeki IrodikromoSri Irodikromo, Steven Towrijo & Suhada Kasto. Ik dwaal een beetje rond, dat doe ik meestal, voelen wat ik zie en alvast wat impressies vastleggen met mijn camera. Kim (Sontosoemarto) loopt even met me mee en vertelt wat over het waarom, het proces en over een enkel werk.

Ik ken alle kunstenaars van naam, op één na: Sato Atmopawiro, hij woonde en werkte in Nederland en overleed in 2015. Kim vertelt me dat zijn werk nooit eerder is getoond, dat zijn werk nu hier hangt, is dus een mooi postuum eerbetoon aan hem.

Ik praat wat over enkele werken met bezoekers en besluit ten slotte van elke kunstenaar een werk te kiezen, dat me het meeste aanspreekt. Ik selecteer op wat het werk me doet, soms is dat vooral kleur zoals bij Soeki, soms het verhaal van de kunstenaar zoals bij Dani en Cliff. Bij enkele kunstenaars kan ik niet goed kiezen en vraag ik me af of ik wel wil kiezen. De werken spreken me niet zo aan, dat heb ik bij het werk van Reinier. Ik ken zijn werk en hou niet van alles, maar met zijn werken van 2016 verraste hij me. En dat vind ik hier niet terug. Dan hoor ik hoe hij worstelde met de verbeelding van de sierlijke vormen van Javaanse vrouwen, ik snap direct waarom … En dus kies ik toch een werk, dat ene dat voor mij het meest ‘Reinier’ is.

Bij het werk van August Bohé doe ik steeds een stap verder naar achteren, ik ken zijn fotorealistisch werk, zoals de grote vruchten, vaardig geschilderd maar ik mis meestal het leven er in. En dat nu, kom ik tot de conclusie, is wat ik hier zoek, leven in de mensen die hij op het doek heeft vastgelegd. Ik vind het uiteindelijk in één werk, dat ik dan ook uitkies. Wel heb ik eerst mijn associatie moeten loslaten – iets in het portret deed me herinneren aan een beeldverhaal over de onafhankelijkheidsstrijd van voormalig Nederlands-Indië. Het bracht me even terug in de tijd …

Dan, als laatste, sta ik voor het werk van Dani, samen met hem. Ik herinner me zijn grote fotorealistische werk in Paramaribo SPAN, 2010. En nu kijk ik naar drie kleine, ingelijste aquarellen met bamboe. Ik weet dat hij een tijd het schilderen heeft gelaten, ik luister naar hem en vraag niets meer. Ik geef hem een brasa en kies een werk.

Ik kijk nog even rond op het terras waar de sigarenkistjes een artistiek jasje hebben gekregen. De sfeer is vrolijk, de samenwerking is goed en dat is de helft van het succes!

Als ik naar huis rij, bedenk ik me dat elke kunstenaar zijn/haar eigen unieke proces doormaakt. Het werk dat daaruit voortkomt, is misschien niet altijd wat beoogd was. Het kan dan ergens ver weg uit zicht worden gezet, of worden overgeschilderd. De keuze maken om het dan toch te laten zien omdat je je hebt gecommitteerd aan collega-kunstenaars, aan een ideaal, aan een belofte, dat is de vrijheid van de kunstenaar en dat geef ik mijn volle respect. En ik bedenk me nog iets: ik ben blij dat ik vrij kan reageren op wat ik heb gezien, ik ben geen kunstenaar, geen kunstcriticus, geen kunsthistoricus. Ik leg in woorden en soms ook in beelden vast wat ik zie en voel, en dat is mijn vrijheid!

Wat: Position 125 (Facebook), OUR CULTURAL HERITAGE

Wanneer: 9 t/m 11 augustus 2017

Waar: De Hal, Grote Combéweg 45, Paramaribo, Suriname

One thought on “‘OUR CULTURAL HERITAGE’ – Position 125

Leave a Reply

