Erwin de Vries, straightforward

On January 31st, after a short illness, Suriname’s most famous artist, Erwin de Vries, passed away.  Sranan Art Xposed has found the visual artist Miguel Keerveld, also known as EdKe, willing to share his thoughts about Erwin with us.  

Erwin had a large ego. That is what I admired most about this artist, who was always dressed simply. It has immortalized him in our society. ‘(…) When I arrived at the door, the head that I had made from clay fell and broke. From the fragments the professor saw that it was good, and he let me in (…).’ We have all heard this story, of how Erwin began his studies at the ‘Rijksacademie’ in Amsterdam, a few times from him before. Especially of how good and how unique he was. His openness did not only relate to what he thought of himself. He was also quite well known for his obsession with sexuality and his passion for erotica.

Honesty

I will keep talking about what I call Erwin’s honesty for a long time: his expression with very few restrictions. His artworks were sold for more than 20 and 30 thousand euro. This is why I often heard him described as a money-grubber. But did some people expect him to compromise on his worth? Erwin made sure that he received the honor that he deserved, not just expressed in money. A month before his passing he unveiled a head of himself, made by himself, which he donated to the government. What I am not clear about yet: was his impatience for honor so large, or did the government have such little believe in his mastery? He was certainly not modest. If his obsession with himself and his paintings with clitorises made people uncomfortable, so be it.

Through the conversations that we had, Erwin quickly became my father figure. When I came to see him, sometimes together with Fabian de Randamie to help him make his plaster molds, I encountered someone who served as an example. I often talked about art techniques with this great master. Or he encouraged me by giving me some clay. One of those times, after he had made a portrait of me, and had given it to me, we started talking: ‘(…) When you become famous, don’t forget uncle Wim (…).’ Thus he reminded me that Wim Bos Verschuur, the person that recognized his talent and encouraged him to use it, deserves more credit. Erwin, who in this conversation urged me to trust in my talent, could also have said: ‘Don’t forget me.’

Beauty

On the 31st of January 2018 he passed away, and yet he lives on. For me a jewel that searches for the light in order to shine, and reminds us of what it is worth. Erwin knew it and will always know it. And we will keep talking about his love for sexuality and his own talent.

That I knew the greatest Surinamese artist of the 20th century personally, is a gift. Now, as I write about him, I see myself sitting in front of a work by Pablo Picasso and Jean-Michel Basquiat in the MoMA, New York. How glorious would it be if we could do the same here: sitting quietly on a bench in a museum, looking at a De Vries. As often and as long as I would want. Am I then impatient? Or can I for once be straightforward too?

TEXT Miguel Keerveld

Visual artist Miguel Keerveld (Paramaribo, 1982) studied at the Nola Hatterman Art Academy (NHAA) from 2001-2003. He chose to further develop his skills as an autodidact. Since 2004 his artistic career has progressed through his participation in among other things the Nationale Kunstbeurs (National Art Fair) and four solo exhibitions, as well as various group exhibitions and artist-in-residencies in Latin America. In 2012 Miguel starts his own consultancy business and also works regularly with youth on art projects.

The following post about Miguel Keerveld appeared previously on the Sranan Art Xposed-blog https://srananart.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/shemacho-i-challenge-i-a-solo-exhibition-by-miguel-edke-keerveld/.

TRANSLATION Cassandra Gummels-Relyveld


Op 31 januari 2018 is na een kort ziekbed de bekendste Surinaamse kunstenaar overleden, Erwin de Vries. Sranan Art Xposed heeft de beeldend kunstenaar Miguel Keerveld, ook bekend als EdKe, bereid gevonden zijn overpeinzing over Erwin met ons te delen.

Erwin had een groot ego. Dat bewonderde ik het meest van de altijd eenvoudig geklede kunstenaar. Het heeft hem in onze maatschappij vereeuwigd. ‘(…) Toen ik bij de deur aankwam, viel de kop die ik maakte van klei en brak. Uit de brokstukken heeft de professor gezien dat het goed was, en hij heeft me toe gelaten (…).’ Het verhaal hoe Erwin zijn studie op de Rijksacademie in Amsterdam begint, hebben we allemaal vaker van hemzelf gehoord. Vooral hoe goed en uniek hij was. Deze openheid van hem had niet alleen betrekking op wat hij van zichzelf vond. Ook om zijn obsessie voor seksualiteit en passie voor erotiek was hij bekend.

Eerlijkheid

Ik zal nog lang blijven praten over wat ik Erwins eerlijkheid noem: zijn expressie met weinig restricties. Zijn kunstwerken werden verkocht voor bedragen van meer dan 20 en 30 duizend euro. Daarom heb ik vaak gehoord dat hij een geldwolf was. Maar verwachtten sommige mensen dat hij afbreuk zou doen aan wat hij waard was? Erwin zorgde er zelf voor de eer te krijgen die hem toekwam, niet alleen uitgedrukt in geld. Een maand voor zijn dood onthulde hij een aan de overheid gedoneerde kop van hem, die hij zelf heeft gemaakt. Waar ik niet uit ben: was zijn ongeduld naar eer zo groot, of had de overheid zo weinig vertrouwen in zijn meesterschap? Bescheiden was hij zeker niet. Als zijn bezetenheid met zichzelf en zijn schilderijen met clitorissen mensen ongemakkelijk maakte, het zij zo.

Door de gesprekken die wij voerden, werd Erwin al snel mijn vaderfiguur. Wanneer ik bij hem over de vloer kwam, soms om samen met Fabian de Randamie te helpen zijn gipsmallen te maken, ontmoette ik een voorbeeld. Met deze grootmeester heb ik vaak over kunsttechnieken gesproken. Of hij bemoedigde mij door wat klei mee te geven. Een van de keren nadat hij een portret van mij maakte en die aan me gaf, raakten we in gesprek: ‘(…) Wanneer je groot bent geworden, vergeet oom Wim niet (…).’ Zo wijst hij mij erop dat Wim Bos Verschuur, de persoon die zijn talent zag en hem aanspoorde het te gebruiken, meer eer verdient. Erwin, die mij in dat gesprek erop wees te vertrouwen op mijn talent, had mij ook kunnen zeggen: ‘Vergeet mij niet.’

Schoonheid

Op 31 januari 2018 is hij overleden, en toch leeft hij voort. Voor mij een sieraad dat het licht opzoekt om te schijnen, en ons herinnert wat hij waard is. Erwin wist het en zal het altijd weten. Want wij zullen blijven praten over zijn liefde voor seksualiteit en zijn eigen talent.

Een cadeau is het dat ik de grootste Surinaamse kunstenaar van de 20ste eeuw persoonlijk heb gekend. Zo, schrijvend over hem, zie ik mezelf zittend voor werk van Pablo Picasso en Jean-Michel Basquiat in het MoMA, New York. Hoe zalig zou het niet zijn dat hier ook te kunnen: rustig op een bank in een museum kijken naar een De Vries. Zo vaak en zo lang als ik maar wil. Ben ik dan ongeduldig? Of mag ik ook eens recht door zee zijn?

TEKST Miguel Keerveld, februari 2018.

Beeldend Kunstenaar Miguel Keerveld (Paramaribo, 1982) studeerde van 2001-2003 aan de Nola Hatterman Art Academy (NHAA). Hij gaf er de voorkeur aan zich verder te ontwikkelen als autodidact. Vanaf 2004 ontwikkelt zijn artistieke loopbaan zich door o.a. deelname aan de Nationale Kunstbeurs en vier solo-exposities, naast deelname aan groepstentoonstellingen en artist-in-residencies in Latijns-Amerika. In 2012 richt Miguel zijn adviesbureau op en werkt daarnaast regelmatig met jongeren aan kunstprojecten.

Eerder verscheen op het Sranan Art Xposed-blog deze post over Miguel Keerveldhttps://srananart.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/shemacho-i-challenge-i-a-solo-exhibition-by-miguel-edke-keerveld/.

 

Leave a comment